History at a Glance

Cipriani College of Labour and Cooperative Studies was established in 1966 in the immediate post-Independence period to provide trade union training and worker education, conduct seminars and courses and other related activities in the field of Industrial Relations and to undertake research in Labour issues and problems. In the same year, the Government appointed a Board of Governors, comprising of representatives from the Trade Union movement, the University of the West Indies, the Government and the Public. The Board is responsible for the management and development of CCLCS and the Cipriani Labour College Act, No.4 of 1972, provides the legal framework for the functioning of the College.

The curriculum from then till now

CCLCS initially offered a two-year Diploma in Labour Studies; however, in 1972, education and training in Co-operatives was introduced into the curriculum. By 1996, legislation was finally approved to authorize a name change from the “Cipriani College of Labour” to the “Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies,” reflecting the dual focus of its curriculum.

Over a period of time, the curriculum expanded in response to the demands of working people. Today the College offers training and education in over 20 areas including but not limited to Co-operative Studies, Occupational Safety and Health, Human Resource Management, Project Management, Environmental Management, Security Administration and Management, and Emergency Management.


In 1998, CCLCS obtained Accreditation Certification for a period of one year for its Diploma programmes in Labour Studies and Co-operative Studies from the Committee on Recognition of Degrees (CORD/NIHERST), the national accreditation body of Trinidad and Tobago at the time. As the College continued to develop its governance structure and support services, the institution registered in 2008 and re-registered in 2010 with the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT). CCLCS attained Institutional Accreditation from the ACTT on November 21, 2012. This achievement signaled a positive turning point in the outlook and impetus for the College, encouraging the institution on its journey towards institutional effectiveness and advancement.

CCLCS views itself as a premier institution of choice in the tertiary education sector. Currently, CCLCS has four campuses strategically located in Valsayn, San Fernando and Tobago.